Skip to main navigation.

Power Supply

South River EMC has partnered with most of the state’s electric cooperatives to form the North Carolina Electric Membership Corporation (NCEMC).  NCEMC maintains a diverse power supply mix to provide its member cooperatives with the affordable, reliable and environmentally responsible power they use to serve their members.

NCEMC acquires the power it sells to its member cooperatives in a number of ways, including:

  • Ownership of a 61.51 percent share of the Catawba Nuclear Station’s Unit 1 in York County, S.C.
  • Ownership of a 13.33 percent share of the 750-megawatt combined-cycle natural gas plant at W.S. Lee Station in Anderson County, S.C. that began service in April 2018
  • Ownership and operation of natural gas peak generating plants located in Anson and Richmond counties. These plants provide a combined capacity of approximately 600 megawatts.
  • Ownership and operation of peaking generators on the Outer Banks at Buxton (15 megawatts) and Ocracoke (3 megawatts)

Purchases from wholesale markets, primarily PJM, and wholesale suppliers such as Duke Energy, American Electric Power (AEP), Southern Power and Dominion Energy

NCEMC also works with electric cooperatives to meet Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Portfolio Standard (REPS) regulatory and compliance milestones. 

Our portfolio currently breaks down as follows:

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo